News & Resources - Awards

  • Marketing Contact
        800.329.1219 x5212

Tom Kase

Congratulations to Tom Kase, Kane Citizen of the Year 2022!

Tom Kase accepted the Citizen of the year award Saturday night at the Kane Area Chamber of Commerce 2022 Gala Celebration. To read more click here.

Everett Easley

Everett Easley Honored Master Lumberman 2022

Everett Easley was one of six who received the Master Lumberman Award. This distinguished award is presented to outstanding lumbermen who have demonstrated knowledge, competence and dedication in fostering the principles of quality lumber manufacture. To read more click here.

2015 FSC Leadership Award

2015 FSC Leadership Award

On November 18th, the Forest Stewardship Council celebrated people and organizations who have demonstrated an enduring commitment to responsible forest management in our annual FSC Leadership Awards at Greenbuild 2015. Read more here.

Ned Karger

2014 Ned Karger receives SAF Presidential Field Forester Award

Ned Karger CF was presented a 2014 Society of American Foresters (SAF) Presidential Field Forester award at the SAF National Convention held recently in Salt Lake City. Ned, representing SAF District 7, was one of nine awardees selected from SAF regions throughout the US. District 7 includes Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey and D.C. To read more click here.

Operator of the Year award

2013 Operator of the Year

Collins receives Operator of the Year for Barry Point work.Click here for a video with more info.

FSC Award

2009 FSC Pacific Northwest Champion Award

The Champions Award is given to FSC partners who represent visionary leadership in advancing FSC's mission and demonstrate outstanding support of and dedication to the work of FSC-US. For more information click here.

Sequoia Award

2009 AWFS Sequoia Award

The Sequoia Awards, given since 1997, recognize and honor the creativity, quality and innovation of the best new offerings in the woodworking industry. Collins Pine Freeform Particleboard was honored in 2009. Collins FreeForm is a FSC-certified particleboard made from wood waste and melamine-based resin with no added urea-formaldehyde.
For more information click here.

2007 BuildingGreen Top-10 Products

Collins Pine FreeForm is a new FSC-certified particleboard that is produced with no added urea-formaldehyde. A melamine-formaldehyde binder is used rather than industry-standard urea-formaldehyde.

Connie Grenz

2006 Kane Chamber holds Award Banquet

Connie Grenz, general manager at Kane Hardwood, accepted the Chamber award Saturday. She praised the Kane Hardwood, employees. "Every single person is a key to our success," Grenz said. Kane Hardwood, a division of the Collins Companies, has 120 employees and is considered the largest manufacturing employer in the Kane area.Click here to download the article.

Ned Karger

2006 Karger Receives Forestry Award

Ned Karger, silvicultural manager at Kane Hardwood, was awarded the Robert W. Bauer Outstanding Service to Forestry Award at the annual Allegheny Society of American Foresters (ASAF) meeting held recently in Lancaster.Click here to download the article.

Puller Blaine

2005 Local Field Forester Recognized By National Organization

Blaine Puller has been chosen to receive the Society of American Foresters' Presidential Field Forester Award. The award recognizes foresters who have displayed uncommon talent and innovative methods to achieve a record of excellence in the application of forest management.Click here to download the article.

2003 Pacific Crest Trail Association Honors

Timber Company with Partnership Award Collins Pine Company Demonstrates Unique and Exemplary Stewardship of National Scenic Trail.


2002 Governor's Award for Environmental Sustainability

presented to Kane Hardwood, for best symbolizing the three elements of sustainability: environmental improvement, economic development and positive social change.

National Hardwood Lumber Association

2002 National Hardwood Lumber Association (NHLA)

Forest Stewardship Award
Academic experts and industry insiders reviewed nominations and selected Kane as winner based on five criteria: public education, political involvement, private landowner education, forest stewardship on-the-ground and efficient resource utilization.

2001 Environmental Excellence Award from Business Ethics Magazine

For its pioneering commitment to sustainably harvested timber, through three generations of management. See for more info.


2000 Better Business Bureau Integrity Award

For large companies from the Better Business Bureau of Oregon and western Washington.

1999 Exporter of the Year Award

For the North/Central region to Collins Pine Company, Kane Hardwood Division. Presented by the Global Trade Institute.

1998 Timber Man of the Year

To Jim Quinn, President and CEO of The Colllins Companies from Timber Processingmagazine.


JFKU Alumni

1998 JFKU Alumni of the Year

Jim Quinn, president and CEO of The Collins Companies, was honored as the 1998 Alumni of the Year from the John F. Kennedy University School of Management.

1997 Enterprise Awards

For Best Business Practices for Building Strategic Alliances from Arthur Andersen, US Bank, and Oregon Business magazine.

Green Cross Award
Quinn & Gorbachev

1997 Green Cross Millennium Award

Corporate Environmental Leadership Award to Jim Quinn from Green Cross International, Mikhail S. Gorbachev, President.

1997 Governor's Challenge of Change Awards

For Sustainable Oregon from Governor John Kitzhaber.

1997 Founder of a New Northwest

Presented by Sustainable Northwest with: Center for Rural Revitalization and Learning, Idaho State University, Northwest Policy Center, University of Washington, Oregon Rural Development Council, Sustainable Forestry Council, Oregon State University.

1997 Honorable Mention, Inc. Magazine Marketing Masters Awards

Inc. Magazine, Sponsored by Lexmark International, Inc.

Sequoia Award
Hazel O'Leary, Secretary - U.S. Dept. of Energy
Wade Mosby, VP Marketing - The Collins Companies
Al Gore, Vice President - United States of America
Jim Quinn, President/CEO - The Collins Companies
Bruce Babbitt, Secretary - U.S. Dept. of the Interior

1996 Presidential Award

For Sustainable Development, presented at the White House.

Privacy Notice